News Glossary of Terms FAQs Polls Cool Links SpeedGuide Teams SG Premium Services SG Gear Store
Registry Tweaks Broadband Tools Downloads/Patches Broadband Hardware SG Ports Database Security Default Passwords User Stories
Broadband Routers Wireless Firewalls / VPNs Software Hardware User Reviews
Broadband Security Editorials General User Articles Quick Reference
Broadband Forums General Discussions
Advertising Awards Link to us Server Statistics Helping SG About
The Broadband Guide
SG
search advanced
 Username:
 Password:
Register
 forgot your password?

Netgear RP614 Review

Web Safe Router Gateway with a built-in 4 Port switch.
Quick Index: 
Date: 2003-04-01 04:49
Author: Jason (Qwijib0) Katterhenry
Category: User Reviews
Manufacturer: Netgear
Product/Model: RP614
Online Price: $54.95 @ Buy.com

With all these things going for it, it should be a cinch to recommend it.  However, this router had problems that were evidenced by time.  About a week after I purchased it, I could no longer connect to the Internet, even though the cable modem was linked, and my computerís connection had a link light as well.  I rebooted the router and all was well.  Another week passes and then I was disconnected again.  Reboot the router and all is well.  Around the 4th week, I decide to find some new firmware, and locate it on Netgearís site.  With the new firmware installed, the router seemed more stable, and I experienced no unexpected disconnects.  However, about a month later, the internet was sluggish at best, so acting on a guess, I reboot the router-and all is well again.  Essentially, the router slows down over time, and requires maintenance reboots.

Unfortunately, that is not the end to my frustration.  I recently purchased a linksys WAP11 to allow my laptop to use wifi to connect to the internet.  I plug in the WAP11, and it goes into a constant reboot cycle.  Already suspecting the router, I try it at school in a network jack, and am able to use it without a problem.  My new AP works everywhere else I try it, except with my netgear router.  My only hope is that there is a new netgear firmware release in the near future to alleviate my problems. Although the Netgear RP614 has an awesome feature set, is highly configurable, fast, and introduces no new lag into the network, itís stability and compatibility leave something to be desired

PROS

  • Full feature set
  • Easily configurable
  • Fast, and lag-free

 

CONS

  • Instability
  • Some incompatibility
Rating
Price:
Features:
Setup Ease:
Tech Support / Manual:
Reliability:
Management:
Performance (speed/latency):
Security:
Overall Rating:
Previous page  1 | 2 | 3  top
  User Reviews/Comments:
    rate:
   avg:
by dcharles_here - 2005-12-13 06:02
I just found one of these myself,it is the easiest router i have ever set up..truely plug and play.i also have a US Robotics model #8003 that dosn't even make a good paperweight..lol .I recommend The Netgear over any router i have used..Thanks for the ad blocking info too..Hadn't thought of that

Dcharles_here
by acat550 - 2006-01-01 01:02
Just bought mine. Its RP614 V2 and easy setup and the settings are relativly easy for meduim knowledged users. Some connection and MTU issues but with the latest firmware download, everything worked amazingly.Perhaps the best router for its value.
by billdehaan - 2006-01-26 00:29
My aging RT314 died, and so I borrowed a friend's RP314 until I could get a new one. This being the latest Netgear, I picked it up.

I *really* hope I have a lemon; it's going back to the store tomorrow. Basically, it's a good switch, but can't get an IP from my DSL provide. Despite the fact that the configuration is 99% the same as the RP314, little works.

First off, I set a strong password to replace the default. I promptly cannot log in. My 15 character password is accepted, and then the internal password is changed to something, but I don't know what. I tried a few times, assuming I was making typos, but it simply cannot handle passwords that long. Truncating it to 12 worked fine.

I successfully got all 4 PCs connected before trying to connect to the WAN. Using the same username/password as the RP314 gets nothing. Worse, there are *no* diagnostics, even the logging just says it's attempting a connection, and nothing else. No indication if it's attempting to negotiate and failing on user ID, or password, or whether it's even connecting at all.

So, I did a pin reset to original defaults. Bad mistake. Although I can get a 192.168.0.x address, that's about it. Even pinging the router fails, not because it can't find it, but because of timeouts.
by anonymous - 2006-04-26 12:52
This is my second Netgear router and I've had wan line droping problems with both of them, on two different locations, with three different cable/DSL modems and two different providers. It just drops the Internet connection out of the blue and I need to reset the router and most of the time computer too to restore it. I have also tried other borrowed routers (Linksys and D-Link) and haven't had any problems with them. I'll never buy another Notgear product again.
by anonymous - 2006-04-28 13:34
I purchased a WGR614 Netgear a couple months ago when my old WiFi router was murdered by my cats... I have always liked Netgear equipment cause i am generally cheap and they had good quality for their pricepoint. I am a professional web worker... lot's of bandwidth gets used and serious FTP usage... the Netgear would fail like clockwork every 12 minutes or so on major uploads. I was developing a serious HATE for this equipment and thought about getting something else... finally, a patch has been offered for this model and so far so good.

A bit of feedback to anyone who might actually make these devices: make it so a pro user can turn OFF all your nifty software! I believe that if the netgear just tried being a dumb device (like their equipment of old) things would have been fine... Firewalls are everywhere now, it becomes a serious cluster f*** quickly.
by acat550 - 2006-05-06 23:48
Well setup is easy and all. The overall performance of this is very poor even with the best firmware available for it. I did some investagating and decided to put the firmware from the v3 into mine the v2. The firmware version is 6. It makes an unbelievable difference. If any issues or even with out, get the updated firmware and you will be satisfied!
by anonymous - 2006-06-27 10:23
The v2 version has wan dropping problems and if you have a busy network, you must reboot the device every few days. I wouldn't recommend it for a switch. During a cluster project where i had 3 nodes running on openMosix, the device stopped moving traffic after about six hours. (it was for an operating systems course)

The only redemable quality is that netgear provides the firmware's source for free on their site under LGPL.

This device does use less power than one of their newer 5 port gigabit switches.

I built a 400 dollar pc to route my traffic instead. It was much faster and i only rebooted for security patches (30-45 days average).

If its for your mom, it might work out ok. Just tell her to restart it when she can't get to yahoo.
by freetech - 2006-08-24 12:38
I run a small networking business. I am a dedicated Netgear customer. This router is great because it is so easy to set up. I have sold about a dozen to customers and not once have they come back to ask for help. Pretty impressive.
Great for families with young children (WebSafe function). Not great for intense Internet activity, or power users because of low bandwidth throughput. Not good for businesses, you do have to reboot occasionally. Later revisions seem to be more stable.
by ifingers - 2006-09-01 07:08
I have a Netgear RP614v3 which overall I am quite happy with, with one exception. As the excellent review points out, it does slow down after continual use, which requires a reboot, then it's fine again.
by qbecks - 2006-10-10 09:54
I have one RP614v3 and it's crap:
1) Web interface is going down after few hours being online - I can not log in the router couse no server at it's adress.
2) Problems with port forwarding - I'm forced to use DMZ instead.
3) Logs? lol I could find no any use for this rests of info.

Just me 2 cents.
qbecks
by Raith - 2007-05-21 15:53
I'm trying to port forward my Starcraft game to my comp, but I don't know how. Can someone post how?
by Simon Duvivier - 2007-07-24 06:51
Purchased a v6 unit and found it fairly easy to set up but it always dropped out a lot (once a day on average). After 3 months failed completely, however can be used as a hard wired router with the 4 connections.
Not to be recommended.
by anonymous - 2008-05-18 19:17
I get this free as a virgin media customer, i would have to say its the best router i have had.
by anonymous - 2008-06-03 10:41
people plese NOTE: get the name right!!
http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/WGR614.asp

is NOT the same as

http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/RP614.asp

ALSO NOTE the many warnings....
by ALLtoHell - 2009-10-11 05:54
Let's see, when I got this for $10 from compusa.com as a refurb, if I do remember correctly, it was all in Korean, but I still managed to get it to work, I don't know what firmware version before I updated it to the latest, but the old one had no ping issues, it would just be unresponsive after few hours, only fix was to turn off/on.

After the latest firmware update to english and all, the reset problem went away, but the uploading rate just tanks so bad, and this affects ping greatly. It went from 80 to 150~300. I will never buy another Netgear again, I'm just glad I didn't spend too much on it.
by SingularityMan - 2009-10-11 16:21
After latest firmware upgrade, I lost uploading rate, therefore affecting increased ping from 70 to 150 or even higher, before firmware upgrade, router would become unresponsive after few hours and needs complete resetting, I wish I bought that compusa router instead of this crap, I'm just glad it wasn't over $11..
by Philip - 2011-09-12 11:15
testing
comment print discuss top