Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Is Wireless Access Point Retained in Bridge Mode?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1

    Is Wireless Access Point Retained in Bridge Mode?

    On 2Wire Gateway 1800HG; If I disable Routing in this gateway, puts me in Bridge Mode, *but will Wireless Access Point still work?
    Want to setup routing on Linux box so that I can configure Dhcp + DDNS for home web server with dynamic ISP IP, without third party service.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,686
    No, the access point connects to the private side of the routers NAT. Once you put the gateway in bridge mode, there is no more inside/NAT.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Access point in Adaptor Mode
    By ipmax in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-13-11, 06:01 PM
  2. access point and bridge roles concurrently?
    By who where in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-18-09, 11:41 AM
  3. Access point or Bridge?
    By Concerned Cajun in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-08, 05:15 PM
  4. access point or bridge?
    By makivili in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-05-08, 05:34 PM
  5. Wireless extender, wireless access point, or a bridge Needed?
    By benn in forum alt.internet.wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-08, 06:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •